GAHBA Announces 2021 Award Winners at Annual Installation

On Thursday, January 20, the Greater Atlanta Home Builders Association (GAHBA) hosted its annual Installation and Awards Program at the Omni Hotel at The Battery Atlanta. Guests enjoyed a cocktail reception in the hotel ballroom, followed by the installation ceremony.

During the event, Whit Marshall of Paran Homes was installed as the 2022 GAHBA President. He was sworn in by his father, Mike Marshall. In addition to installing the 2022 officers and board members for the GAHBA and HomeAid Atlanta, the GAHBA’s designated charity, the association’s award winners for 2021 were also recognized during the ceremony.

The GAHBA’s 2021 award winners are:

Builder of the Year: David Weekley Homes

Associate of the Year: Construction Resources

Lewis Cenker Award: Dennis McConnell – Custom Builders-Atlanta (The GAHBA’s most prestigious honor, which recognizes lifetime achievement in the local home building industry.)

Presidential Award: Myles Cardenas – McKinley Homes (Awarded by the GAHBA President for his service to the association in 2021.)

Council Chairman of the Year: Cassy Hester – Haven Design Works (Awarded for her service as 2021 Professional Women in Building Council Chair.)

Chapter President of the Year: James Nash – Heatherland Homes (Awarded for his service as 2021 Metro South Chapter President.)

Spike Award: Whit Marshall – Paran Homes (The Spike Award recognizes the member who recruits the most new members to the association each year.)

A highlight of this year’s event was the recognition of 2021’s participants in the GAHBA’s new Emerging Leaders program. This program, created by Myles Cardenas and the association’s Young Professionals Group, was designed to engage and mentor young professionals to become the next generation of leaders in the home building industry. Last year’s Emerging Leaders class included:

Erika Bridges – McMichael & Gray

Eric Connolly – Archway Custom Homes

Myron Fears – Guaranteed Rate

Jason Fisher – Mortgage Investors Group

John Lawroski – Active Senior Builders

Brendan O’Dwyer – O’Dwyer Properties

Keegan O’Reilly – Brand Vaughan Lumber

Angelina Pettirossi – McKinley Homes

Ashton Reaves – McMichael & Gray

Courtney Stewart – Denim Marketing

Dylan West – Capital City Home Loans